Review :: Love, In Theory :: Elodie Cheesman

There’s an algorithm for everything else, so why not love?

When 24-year-old lawyer Romy learns that she is at her ‘optimal stopping point’ (the mathematically designated point at which one should select the next ‘best person’ who comes along in order to have the best chance at happily ever after), she knows it’s time to get serious about her love life.

Ruthlessly rational, with a belief in data over destiny, Romy knows that reliability and consistency are dependable options, while passion and lust are transitory and only bring pain and disillusionment.

That’s why sensible Hans the engineer is the right choice, as opposed to graphic designer James who exhibits the kind of behaviour that has got her into trouble before. Isn’t he?

If you’re looking for your next cute & quirky romcom read Love, in Theory might just be it. Elodie Cheesman’s debut novel was a fun and easy read that I think would be perfect for fans of books like Ali Berg & Michelle Kalus’ The Book Ninja.

Being a bit of a science/maths nerd myself I thought the premise of using a formula to help find love was pretty cute, and Romy’s Mum had me laughing out old in the first few pages.

Romy herself was one of those characters who you can’t decide whether you want to hug or strangle them haha. There were definitely some moments where I wanted to shake her, but I feel like that comes with the territory in this genre (or is that just me?).

I did think this was sweet and fun overall. I liked both love interests, and I thought there was a pretty good supporting cast of family and friends around Romy. I’d love to know if you’ve read this one what you thought!

xo Bron
***

Love, In Theory by Elodie Cheesman
Out now from Pan Macmillan Australia
Source: I received a free copy from Pan Macmillan for review (thank you!). All views are my own.
Category: Contemporary romcom
Format: Paperback, 352 pages

Love, In Theory on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s